Cappyccino’s: casual, upscale, fun bar & bistro

6 03 2008

Cappy’s restaurant was opened in 1977 by Cappy and Suzy Lawton as one of the first establishments intended to revitalize the Alamo Heights area of San Antonio. Alamo Heights is an older, more affluent neighborhood that is a beautiful place to live and work. In 1996, the Lawton’s opened Cappyccino’s (“Little Cappy’s”) as an adjunct and complement to the popular and successful first restaurant. Its just across the patio from Cappy’s and offers quick and light fare. It is probably one of just a handful of full bars in San Antonio that is completely smoke-free and is a great informal place to meet for lunch, as is evidenced by the mix of casually attired as well as business-suited clientele.

The restaurant bills itself as a bistro, and its menu of burgers, salads, pizzas, and sandwiches fits the bill. I met my wife and kids here the other day for lunch, as well as my aunt and uncle and my parents. Altogether there were nine of us sitting inside, although it was a beautiful day to sit outside on the patio. Its nice to check out a restaurant with several people in order to get a better picture of the menu. Its even better when the other people are your family and they don’t mind if you sample from their plates, which is what I did.

My mom ordered the Combo with Chicken Tortilla Soup and the Mediterranean Grilled Cheese. I’ve had many tortilla soups and everyone has their own take on it. Cappyccino’s uses a chicken stock base with a definite tomato flavor. It had a hearty addition of chunky tomatoes and onions and a big handful of tortilla strips to add texture. Noticeably missing was the avocado, sour cream, and jack cheese that are normally a part of this traditional soup. Nevertheless, it has a great taste and would make a good lunch by itself. The grilled cheese was fantastic. The white bread was about 3/4″ thick with a buttery crisp crunch and was filled with Fontina cheese, tomato, basil, and olive oil. I mention the thickness of the bread because it was the perfect amount for the fillings.

Every now and then I get a hankering for the tangy flavor of a Rueben sandwich, so I decided to give it a shot. Its probably one of the best Rueben’s I’ve ever had. Many restaurants slightly alter the recipe by using rye bread, or sub the Russian for Thousand Island. This sandwich had a moist Pumpernickel bread with a great aroma, a slightly vinegary corned beef and sauerkraut, Russian dressing, and Gruyere cheese (instead of the swiss most places use). I liked my sandwich a lot, but could have cared less for the hand-cut potato chips that were fried a little too long.

My dad and uncle ordered burgers made with Kobe beef. What I really liked best about them, however, was the bun. As I’ve commented before, burger tasting is quite subjective, so everyone has their own opinion. The bun is cut somewhat squarish and has a slightly sweet flavor to it, like a Hawaiian sweet bread. Its an unusual take on a burger but it works very well.

My wife and kids had pizza. The dough is hand made and the pizza is wood fired. The kids had the Classic Pepperoni and my wife had the Margherita which is made with tomatoes, mozzarella, and basil. Both pizzas were really good.

Overall, our experience here was very positive. My only complaint, as I mentioned above, is with the chips, which is a pretty minor thing to complain about. Our server (W.J.) was attentive and courteous, making our visit all the better.

Actions

Information

One response

3 09 2008
Clothing Hand Luke

Sounds like a great place to eat. I’ll go check it out as soon as I have the time. Thanks for the review, it sounds great.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

