EZ’s Brick Oven Grille – surprisingly fresh fast food

16 11 2007

I am a fan of simple food made well. I’m easily satisfied with a burger, even, as long as it is made well and it tastes great. That is one of the reasons I like EZ’s Brick Oven Grille. This place serves typically American fast food in a fresh, made to order fashion. The restaurant advertises its fare as “Something for Everyone,” and I would have to agree. There’s a lot to choose from and the menu is divided into easy to follow sections: Signature Dishes, Burgers & Sandwiches, Salads, From the Brick Oven, Shakes & Malts, and a Kids menu. The restaurant is clean and comfortable and definitely family-oriented. The decor is lively and upbeat and the service is friendly and attentive.

The Signature Dishes are not what you would expect from a place that also serves burgers and pizza. However, that is what makes EZ’s special. Not only do they serve things like Rosemary Chicken and Rainbow Trout, these dishes actually taste very good too. From this section I’ve had the Liberty Chicken and found the chicken to be grilled well, the veggies not over-steamed, and the rice to be tasty and fluffy. The Alamo Bowl shares the same grilled chicken with black beans, fresh pico de gallo, and cotija cheese. My experience with the quality of the other foods makes me confident in recommending any of the Signature Dishes.

Although my favorite salad is no longer on the menu (The Pico Chicken), all of the salads are assembled and tossed upon ordering. The ingredients are fresh and the size is good enough for one person to make a meal out of (like Seinfeld’s “large” salad).

You can’t go wrong with any of the pizzas or calzones. The dough is made fresh and the toppings are tasty with several flavor combinations to choose from. The pizzas and calzones have that brick oven taste and texture, and I’ve never received a burnt crust. The 11″ pizza is a good size for someone with a good appetite. I normally share a pizza and a salad with my wife and we’re satisfied.

Don’t leave this place without trying one of their shakes. They offer different flavors made with Blue Bell ice cream that are thick enough to not melt for a while and to be able to suck through your straw without a problem.

One thing I have not tried here are the burgers. To be honest, I like the pizza and the salads so much that I don’t normally order much else. I have known many people eating with me to order the burgers, though, and they like them very much (get the curly fries with your order).

Lastly, EZ’s does serve wine by the glass and beer, thus, “Something for Everyone.” I have always found the staff friendly and for a while, they even made my favorite salad, even though it was not on the menu. The kitchen is eager to please and can adjust your order to your liking. EZ’s is a great place to go for lunch or dinner without having to wait long for your great-tasting food.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

