Mitt Romney Pot Pie

17 12 2007

”What kind of pot pie” you might ask, is Mitt giving up a recipe to? Well, none actually, and that is the point.

Imagine being served a beautifully baked pot pie, but not being told what is in it. It could be beef, or chicken, or veggies, or kidneys (no offense to kidney lovers). But, this is exactly what happened during Gov. Romney’s “religion” speech about 1-1/2 weeks ago. Some might call his speech just a cleverly veiled façade, intended to garner support from the religious right, but not give enough detail to actually turn them away. Others might say that Mitt is no different than many Americans who call themselves religious, who see no difference between the god they worship and the god everyone else worships. So, before I continue, let me explain that this is still a food blog, as witnessed by the title. Nevertheless, I do feel compelled to comment on other things every now and then (politics, religion, etc.). In keeping with the theme, then, I will still attempt to work in the food angle.

In his speech, Mitt answered what he believes is the most fundamental question he is asked: What he believes about Jesus Christ. His answer: I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God and the Savior of mankind.” He goes on to say the following: “My church’s beliefs about Christ may not all be the same as those of other faiths. Each religion has its own unique doctrines and history. These are not bases for criticism but rather a test of our tolerance. Religious tolerance would be a shallow principle indeed if it were reserved only for faiths with which we agree.” And in commenting on the different faiths he has encountered he adds: “As I travel across the country and see our towns and cities, I am always moved by the many houses of worship with their steeples, all pointing to heaven, reminding us of the source of life’s blessings.” In other words, Mitt implicitly states that all faiths worship the same god, but maybe in slightly different ways. His main point, however, is unity, as he states in his closing: “Any believer in religious freedom, any person who has knelt in prayer to the Almighty, has a friend and ally in me. And so it is for hundreds of millions of our countrymen: we do not insist on a single strain of religion – rather, we welcome our nation’s symphony of faith.

My beef (pun intended) is not with the fact that he is openly telling the American people that his faith is important to his life. I’m not even that concerned about how this will affect any policy decisions. My problem, really, is with the American public, most of whom will simply roll over and blindly accept what he is saying: that it is not important what religion you are, but that we tolerate each other and unite as Americans. That sounds fantastic and I wholeheartedly agree that unity is important to create a great and strong nation. However, mediocre Christians have been lulled into believing that we all worship the same god, and that is where I have a problem. So, in effect, American Christians are being served a beautiful, traditional pot pie, comfort food if you will. We have been brainwashed into believing that all pot pies are the same. They may look the same on the outside, but the inside is what makes all the difference.

I won’t go into details about the differences between Mormonism (Romney’s faith) and traditional Christianity, but they are worlds apart. Likewise, Muslims and Christians DO NOT worship the same god. So, Romney’s answer to who Jesus Christ is sounds right-on to Christians. But ask more detailed and pointed questions about Jesus and God and you will realize that we are not on the same page. Anyone who believes (as Mormons do) that “As man is, God once was; as God is, man may become” is diametrically opposed to the traditional and Biblical teachings of Christianity. Though this phrase was coined by Lorenzo Snow, it came about from the teachings of previous church leaders (History of the Church, 6:302-317, Joseph Smith; Journal of Discourses, v.7, p. 333, Brigham Young; et al).

Why should this be a problem to American Christians? Because Romney’s theology will guide his actions, as he notes: “I will take care to separate the affairs of government from any religion, but I will not separate us from the God who gave us liberty.” I clearly understand that the focus of Romney’s speech is on the “common creed of moral convictions” evidenced by all Americans, faithful or faithless, which would guide his presidency. However, the Bible also clearly shows that there is a higher power than any government or king, and that is God. Romney’s ultimate authority and guide for his life and actions, and ultimately his presidency, will be his faith.

Mormonism clearly teaches that any individual that does not belong to the Latter Day Saints organization is not truly saved (if you have a little time you can do some research on the “Priesthood” in the “Gospel Principles” which can be found on the LDS website). Should Christians feel comfortable electing a man to the highest position of our country and to be an ambassador for the world when in his heart of hearts his faith is telling him that all religions other than his own are untrue and lost? To restate, Romney says that “Religious tolerance would be a shallow principle indeed if it were reserved only for faiths with which we agree.” Based on this quote we are forced to surmise that Romney is either lying about being tolerant towards other faiths, or he is fooling the public and himself about the depth of his own faith.

Let me close with a final quote from Romney’s speech:

My faith is the faith of my fathers – I will be true to them and to my beliefs. Some believe that such a confession of my faith will sink my candidacy. If they are right, so be it. But I think they underestimate the American people. Americans do not respect believers of convenience.

This pot pie may look delicious, but I don’t like the smell of what’s inside.

Actions

Information

8 responses

17 12 2007
amberfireinus

I really liked your article with the pot pie reference. It is so true and right on. The only thing that we disagree on in it is that Muslims and Christians and Jews do in fact worship the same god.

Mohammed was given the Quaran by the Arch Angel Gabriel in chant form. If you read the Quaran, it is the biblical stories and lessons (all the same major players here) but in kind of a jumbled order. Its what you would get if you tried to teach someone who couldnt read or write to sing the bible. The major difference is that it doesnt have all of the background to the stories in the bible. For example. The Quaran states that Moses was a great profit and put his staff in the sand to create a miracle. But you dont know any of Moses’s background etc.

The Muslims see Islam as a natural progression to Christianity similar to the relationship between Judaism and Christianity. They are based on the exact same principals in general but the dogma is a bit different. Thats the thing about interpretation. Man does his best to screw up perfectly good messages for his own gain.

Mohammed says in the Quaran to cherish and respect our “Brothers of the Book” because their religion is true and that their religion is factual.

No, Im not a Muslim, I study world religions as a hobby and always find this subject of interest.

I have also studied in depth about the Mormons, and its a whole lot scarier in their belief system and a far wider gap than between Muslims and Christians if you can believe that one. I could tell you things about that religion that would raise your hair its so beyond scary. And the idea that a President of the United States who is litterally held hostage by these beliefs (not only he but his entire family and friends) cannot in be trusted.

17 12 2007
johnnypeepers

Romney is a cultist whose faith promotes the concepts of blood-atonement, polygamy, and racial hatred. They only moderated their doctrine to appease the Federal government, though it is still a basis of their Book of Mormon. They will be stopped just like the Scientologists, the Earth-Pagans, and other assorted Secular-Progressives. Join me in this fight.

19 12 2007
ieat

Thank for the interesting comments – Johnny: I see you hate pot pie. Amber: in keeping with the metaphor, the difference between chicken, beef, and veggies is obviously clear. If Christians claim that Jesus is God, but Jews and Muslims deny that claim, how can they worship the same God? The Jews did not understand the prophecies of the coming Messiah in their own Scriptures and still don’t, even though the designated time for His arrival has already passed. Similarly, Islam (in a very general sense) involves works based salvation, whereas Christianity does not. I appreciate your reading but you do need to study a little more. ;^P

20 12 2007
amberfireinus

It seems that your arguements have value, although I think we are going to agree to disagree. They do worship the one god. Maybe their understanding and interpretation is a little different, but they all acknowledge that it is one god. I would liken it to Catholics and Protestants. Would you agree that they in fact worship the same god? Dont get lost in the symmantics here.

Mohamed said it best…. Brothers of the book. All of the teachings are on the same exact theme although interpreted slightly differently.

If you actually read the original versions of the bible (which are available) the whole Jesus = God isnt there. That was added later………..

As for works based salvation… hmmm ask any southern baptist minister or catholics about the true works needed to get to heaven. I would call praying the rosary and atonement for sin as being works based salvation. Also isnt it a Christian theme to convert others to their viewpoint? Also how about personal deprivation etc that is called for in all? I.E. Fasting, rituals, etc. You wouldnt call the idea of a Barmitzva a work for salvation?

I think your need to bash me was unnecessary. I think getting personal wasnt in the spirit of this discussion…. do you?

25 12 2007
ieat

Amber: My sincere apologies if you felt bashed. That is not my character at all. It is just frustrating having discussions with people who are so clearly uninformed (no disrespect). For example, in your first comment you agreed with my observations about Romney and his views. One of my points is that Mormons and traditional Christians don’t worship the same God, simply because of their differences in belief on who Jesus is. Muslims and Jews also believe that Jesus is not God Almighty. By the same reasoning, these faiths do not worship the same god. Simply put, you are a Pluralist. All of these faiths are monotheistic, but they certainly do not worship the same god. (BTW, the problem with using Catholicism as your example is that I agree with you – it is also a works based religion). Could I please direct you to http://www.carm.org? About half way down the page are some excellent discussions on this subject (labled Islam, Mormonism, Catholicism). Certainly not definitive study, but a great place to start. Thanks a lot. Are you interested at all in the food posts?

30 12 2007
amberfireinus

First of all…I would like to hit our topic of discussion between us. Thank you for the direction to that website although again you and I will politely agree to disagree here. I have PERSONALLY visited many of the sacred holy places on earth and have studied their history along with religious texts.

My point to you simply was this. The point to your original text here. I agree that one needs to look at the full picture when choosing a candidate for President. It in the case of Mitt Romney is not simply a red herring or political rhetoric but a serious issue that needs to be addressed. I believe that all politicians come baked into a pot pie and it is up to us to look under their beautifully baked golden crusts to find the real meat or substance of what they have to offer and to see if it is going to nourish us and be healthy.

You food posts are indeed interesting. I especially enjoyed the children’s menu post and agree full heartedly with your sentiments there. It really is so annoying that childrens menus are not only lower quality foods, but in addition they are completely unhealthy! Who would feed their children such garbage? No wonder we are all so obese in our culture! I do love that you have taught your children that no food is off limits and to be polite in company. So many parents cant be bothered with these simple lessons anymore.

Regarding the wine, beer and spirits… I live right outside of Napa, so Im probably not on your same page. My husband and I have also spent the past 20 years travelling and living abroad so my tastes are not that of the average American. My husband being British, beer is quite a different animal than what is served here. We also drink fine ports, sherry, and Islay single malt whiskey. Wine is my true love though (even though I rarely get to drink it these days). Being literally across the street from vineyards probably encourages that love.

I do love to cook and bake. My husband and I have had the priveledge of eating at some of the finest restaurants in the world. There is something so amazing about food that brings people of all walks of life together. Its an expression of all of the senses, especially love.

I will peek back at your posts now and again…. Happy New Year to you.

31 12 2007
ieat

Thanks for checking back in. What are your favorite 2 or 3 wines, and why?

1 01 2008
amberfireinus

Gosh… favorites!!!

I have a love for Guenoc Chardonnay. Its not an expensive bottle, quite the opposite in fact. I think it sells for around $12. I first drank this wine while visiting the Lilly Langtree Estate Hotel in Bournemouth England. She was a fascinating woman who owned the Guenoc Vineyard and I couldnt help but be captivated by her story. The food served in the hotel was amazing. It was almost like every single taste and flavor was perfect in that time and space. It has a very warm spot in my heart. It reminds me of nice Sancere’s in France. Not over oaked like most California Chardonnay. Its smooth and easy. Lots of fruit to it, but not at all sweet or frilly. (Dont I sound like a wine snob here or what!)

My second favorite is a Sangiovese from a local napa vineyard called Luna. I think this is the perfect red. Able to stand on its own or mixed with good food. I love the texture of it and the balance. Not too sweet and sissy, not too acidic, and not too in your face. I believe it runs … oh $25 to $40 a bottle.

Finally, there are several outstanding wines I enjoy from the Rothchild estates. These would not be considered every day wines. More special occassion. Priced around $85 or so. They are warm and rich.

If Im drinking cheap…. The JLohr Chardonnay is a good bet. It was pointed out to me by a young wine clerk and got a really decent rating from W.E. I think it was a 93 pointer which for a bottle under $10 is outstanding. If there are no interesting wines on offer, yet I want just something easy and of easy access in restaurants it would probably be something as simple as the Kendel Jackson Chardonnay. For the money you pay, you get a consistant product and can find it practically anywhere.

Types of wines I enjoy… Poulley Fousse, Sangiovese, Chianti, Sancerre, Chateau Neuf du Pape (for heavy meals). I think wine is like music and it is all about the mood.

Leave a Reply

