Easy and yummy donuts

9 01 2008

easy-donuts.jpgI’m normally pretty choosy about donuts. Okay, who am I kidding? I really don’t care where it comes from I’ll almost always stuff my face with these pastry delights. This morning, my wife treated me to her home-made donuts and I ate so many of them (about 9) that I didn’t need to eat lunch. Donuts don’t really seem to fill me up, I just eat until they are all gone. I’ll consume my entire fat intake needs for the week in one sitting.

Well, these donuts are much easier than you think. Go and buy the cheapest biscuits in a can you can get. We haven’t tried to make these with the flaky type yet, so you better stick with the regular biscuits, buttermilk, maybe. Separate all the biscuits and lay them out. Take a shot glass and cut the center out of the biscuit. There, that’s about all the prep work you need (take that, Food Network!).

Here’s the hard part. Donut holesFill up a small pot about half way with cooking oil. Use something with a high smoke temperature like canola. Olive oil will impart a funny taste and smokes at a very low temperature. I don’t know the exact temperature you need the oil at, but it will be around 300°. Test the temperature by frying one of the donut holes. You only need to flip the pastry once and you are looking for a nice golden brown on the outside and cooked all the way through. The temp is too high if the pastry burns, or if you are getting the right color but the inside is still mushy. Once your temp is right, fry away. Don’t put too many donuts in the pot at once (two or three is ok) because you don’t want the temperature to fall too much.

Finally, dust the donuts with a generous helping of powdered sugar (my favorite) or your favorite topping, and enjoy.

Tip: make more (many more) than you think you will be eating – trust me.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 06 2008
specialk

dude, i make awesome icing for my biscuit donuts. just get about 2 cups of powered sugar. melt about 2 tblspns of butter and mix with some vanilla. blend into pwrd sugar, then add milk for desired consistancy. be careful. just a little milk can make it runny. enjoy.

27 06 2008
ieat

Steve, thanks for the input. I recently made a glaze similar to yours for a lemon cake, but I used cream for my base. I like the butter idea, though. Everything tastes better with butter, oh, and bacon! The glaze for my lemon cake also included several tablespoons of Limoncello, a lemon based liquor. Yum!

Leave a Reply

