Zinc – upscale lounge

6 03 2008

My wife and I are not into the club scene at all. We do enjoy an occasional drink, but don’t enjoy the places that normally serve them as they cater to decadent youth focused on competitive imbibing. Not so with Zinc, located in the heart of downtown San Antonio within a short walk of the Riverwalk or the Alamo. This place has a more elegant and upscale feel than many other places do. The clientele seems different, too. At least when I’ve visited, the patrons are more subdued, enjoying the company of a small group of friends. Although the tv’s are usually showing a game, the volume is normally muted so as not to compete with the music or conversation. This is not the type of place you will need to raise your voice at to be heard.

The menu is lengthy with a good selection of wines, spirits, and specialty mixed drinks. Although I’ve never had their food, they also offer panini’s, pizza’s, and a couple of desserts as well. There is ample seating in the main bar area, as well as the adjoining lounge. On nice evenings, the outdoor courtyard is an excellent place to relax.

If you want to get away from the ordinary and step into a relaxing, adult environment, make sure to visit Zinc.

Actions

Information

One response

25 04 2008
Catherine

Hi! Ran across your blog and I will DEFINITELY be adding this to my favorites list! I live in north central SA and I’m always looking for a chance to discover delicious food & atmosphere in our city.

I’m currently studying for a huge professional exam and I’d like to find a nice little bistro or coffee shop where I can curl up in a real chair or couch with my book and computer while I eat/drink/study. Somewhere quiet but not TOO quiet, & preferably with internet access. Starbucks is my only idea so far. Do you have any recommendations?

THANKS, awesome blog! Can’t wait to go try Zinc sometime…

Leave a Reply

